Utility Menu (Top)

Awards Sponsored by GCTM

The deadline for nominations for the following awards has been extended to August 23, 2019.

Gladys M. Thomason Award for Distinguished Service
Each year, GCTM selects one outstanding individual as the Gladys M. Thomason Award winner. Selection is based on distinguished service in the field of mathematics education at the local, regional, and state levels. To be eligible for the award, the nominee must be a member of GCTM and NCTM; be fully certified in mathematics, elementary or middle grades education at the fourth year level or beyond -- or if the nominee is a college professor, be at least an assistant professor; and have had at least five years teaching or supervisory experience in mathematics or mathematical education in Georgia.

Dwight Love Award
This award is presented to a teacher in Georgia who models excellence in the profession and in life and gives much to others beyond the classroom as mentor, teacher and leader. The awardee is a master teacher, professionally active, and promotes GCTM and its mission.

John Neff Award
This award is presented to a member of GCTM who demonstrates excellence as a full time post secondary educator and/or district supervisor. The recipient is someone who is an inspirer, a mentor, and an advocate of mathematics and mathematics education.

Awards for Excellence in the Teaching of Mathematics
Three awards, one each for elementary, middle, and secondary levels, are given to excellent teachers who have strong content foundations in mathematics appropriate for their teaching level, show evidence of growth in the teaching of mathematics, and show evidence of professional involvement in GCTM and NCTM.

Teacher of Promise Award
GCTM recognizes one outstanding new teacher/ member in the state each year who has no more than 3 years experience at the time of the nomination and who demonstrates qualities of excellence in the teaching of mathematics.

If you have any questions or comments about any of the above awards,
please contact LaTonya Mitchell at latonya.mitchell@gocats.org.

Other Awards of Interest

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching
The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) is the highest recognition that a kindergarten through 12th-grade mathematics or science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. Established by Congress in 1983, the PAEMST program authorizes the President of the United States to bestow up to 108 awards each year.

The award recognizes those teachers who develop and implement a high-quality instructional program that is informed by content knowledge and enhances student learning. Since the program's inception, more than 4,100 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession.

Presidential award-winning teachers serve as models for their colleagues and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education. The application process provides a rare opportunity for concentrated self-reflection, and all awardees will have the opportunity to network with each other and exchange effective teaching strategies and innovative methods during a week-long trip to Washington, DC for an awards ceremony and a variety of special recognition events. Additionally, each awardee will receive a citation from the President of the United States and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

Educators can recognize an outstanding colleague with a nomination for the prestigious presidential awards. For information on how to nominate a teacher, or to learn more about the program, please click the link above.