Utility Menu (Top)

Important News

Congratulations to Georgia Teachers Awarded KSTF Teaching Fellowships

The Knowles Science Teaching Foundation (KSTF) recently announced its 2014 cohort of Teaching Fellows. Selected from a pool of more than 180 applicants, 32 exceptionally talented, early-career science, technology, engineering and/or mathematics (STEM) teachers were awarded KSTF Teaching Fellowships. Georgia teachers that have been awarded this fellowship include: Kimberly Conner, Emily Kennedy, Arielle Pool, Rebecca Selleck, and Brian Swanagan.

GCTM Awards Winners at 2014 GSEF

This year GCTM sponsored two awards at the 66th Georgia Science and Engineering Fair. The purpose of these awards is to encourage young minds and imaginations in a pre-collegiate competition. Nickey Ice, current Conference Coordinator for the Georgia Mathematics Conference at Rock Eagle and Intern Treasurer, presented the awards on behalf of GCTM.

Alexandra Carpenter, student of Christina Baxley at Chapel Hill Middle School in Douglasville, took home the GCTM Junior Division Award and a TI-84 Silver+ calculator; while Anand Srinivasan, student of Laura Hunter at Roswell High School, was given the GCTM Senior Division Award along with a TI-89 calculator.

2014 Georgia ARML Team wins 8th place in Nation

Congratulations to the 2014 Georgia ARML team, who finished 8th in the nation this year! This marks the 25th consecutive year that the Georgia team finished in the top 10% at this "world series" of math team tournaments.

Coaches of this year's team were Tom Fulton (Athena Health), Chuck Garner (Rockdale Magnet School), Debbie Poss (Lassiter High School), Carol Sikes (South Forsyth High School), Bobby Stecher (Stratford Academy) and Head Coach Don Slater (Lassiter High School). Joining the coaching staff this year were four former Georgia ARML participants: Harrison Brown, formerly at the University of Alabama; and Jonathan Johnson, Santhosh Karnik, and Bhanu Kumar, all currently seniors at Georgia Tech.

The 61 members of this year's team are listed in the summer edition of GCTM's quarterly publication, eReflections. Learn more

2014 GCTM State Math Tournament Winners

Congratulations to Gwinnet School of Math Science and Technology, this year's state math tournament winners! Check out the full list of placing teams and champions for this year's tournament.

SB 167 passed in Ga Senate, dies in House

On Tuesday, Feb 25, 2013 the Georgia Senate passed SB 167 which, among other things, would have had the effect of (a) rejecting Georgia's continuation with the implementation of the CCGPS, (b) plunging our state educational agency into another de-stabilizing round of standards review and adoption and (c) prohibiting effective cooperation about educational standards and assessments at the interstate, regional, and national levels.

After a great number of GCTM members and others expressed their views with regard to this bill, the House Education Committee failed to pass it into law. The vote was 13-5 against.